Free Info

How to advertise on

Central Virginia Civil War

Trevilian Station Battlefield

~ Driving Tour ~

While Gens. Robert E. Lee and U.S. Grant squared off at Cold Harbor, Northern cavalry under Union Gen. Philip Sheridan rode west to disrupt communication and supply lines into Richmond. Confederate cavalry rode to cut them off.

The two large forces clashed June 11–12, 1864, near Trevilian Station on the Virginia Central Railroad near Louisa Court House.

The Southern horsemen succeeded in halting the Union raid, but drew much-needed cavalry away from Lee's army at Cold Harbor while Grant's army slipped across the James River to Petersburg. A multi-stop Civil War Trails driving tour of the Trevilian Station battlefield begins at the Louisa courthouse. This Trails driving tour is a work in progress.

The Sargeant Museum of Louisa County History,
214 Fredericksburg Ave, Louisa [ road map ] – Museum serves as the Trevilian Station battlefield visitor center with maps, exhibits and other orientation. Pick up information there about other county Civil War resources. Open 10 am–4 pm April–October. Call for hours other times. 540-967-5975.

Louisa Court House – Cavalrymen passed through this historic county seat in June 1864 to the battlefield just north and west.

First Contact – Confederate cavalry ran into Union pickets here in the early morning hours of June 11. The main Union camp at Clayton's Store was alerted, resulting in a 45-minute fight, the first shots fired in the battle.

Clayton's Store – Sheridan's 9,300 cavalrymen camped here June 10 intending to continue the raid west.

Netherland Tavern – This was the site of Confederate Gen. Wade Hampton's headquarters June 10. He learned of Sheridan's cavalry nearby and decided to stand and fight.

"Custer's First Last Stand" and "Custer Rescued" – Trevilian Station stood near here. The famous Gen. George A. Custer got into quite a fix here after he attacked Confederate wagons, then became nearly surrounded by Southerners mid-morning June 11. Custer was saved when reenforcements attacked along the railroad tracks. The Confederates withdrew to the west, but continued to block Sheridan's intended route.

Ogg Farm, Trails sign located west of Lousia Court House on north side of US 33 approximately 1 mile west of Route 22 intersection [ road map ] – After breaking off the fight on June 11, Hampton’s Confederate cavalry withdrew here to form a new line protecting the road to Gordonsville. Union cavalry attacked this fortified position the next day but their assault along the railroad tracks was repulsed with heavy losses.

"Decisive Confederate Victory" and "Oakland Cemetery" – Furious Union attacks June 12 west of Trevilian Station failed to dislodge Confederates posted near the Ogg Farm. Sheridan turned back without accomplishing his mission. Nearly 2,000 of the almost 16,000 cavalrymen and horse artillerists engaged were casualties during the battle. Signs at the cemetery wrap up the battle and note the dozens of Confederate dead buried in Oakland.